top of page

The Selah





It has been a little over a month since the fall Selah that Lou and I held at Wallowa Lake. Reflecting back on it, it feels like a beautiful dream. However, going into it, I wasn't sure if and how it was going to turn out. Unexpected circumstances made it impossible for Lou to be there, and I found myself scrambling to host solo. I took several long, early morning walks the week leading up to the Selah, in which I voiced all of my insecurities, and concerns over the retreat. Earlier in the summer, when Lou and I were defining our role as hosts for the Selah, we landed on "Space Holders, Seat Savers". And while I walked and prayed out all of my fears and anxieties over the upcoming retreat, God brought those job descriptions to mind. My job wasn't to show up saying, "Here I am, what do you think of me/ this thing I'm hosting." My job was to say, "There you are. I've made you some food, saved you a seat, and will hold space for your creativity."


I never got the chance to host the retreat "by myself". Every single person who came stepped in and helped in some capacity or another. Looking back, my heart is so full of thankfulness for everyone of you who came, trusted me with your time, and allowed me to hold space for you. Each of you expanded my confidence in the goodness of God through action and words, and deepened my perspective on creativity.

One phrase I kept hearing throughout the weekend from different people over vastly different topics was, "You're in good company." I kept rolling the words around in my mind, and repeating them. Just resting in that simple phrase felt like a deep breath. This was good company. This was community that God had pieced together for this particular weekend, and He was restoring our souls through it.


Another conversation topic that came up a few times was being intentional with our margins and paying attention to the habits we are forming. The pause the Selah creates is a gift and exception. The long stretches of time we can dedicate to creative pursuits are not the norm for most of us. However, in all of our ordinary days there is some margin. It's learning to recognize it, reframe our habits, and not dismiss what we can accomplish in the 10 minute gaps.


Throughout the whole weekend I could see God's finger prints everywhere. In every quiet moment, conversation had, and in every person. In the drying canvas and water color paintings, in the flowers arranged, and meals made, in early morning hikes, or naps in the middle of the afternoon, God was there among us and delighting in our Selah.


On Sunday night, as the retreat was coming to a close, I shared this quote from Katherine Patterson, almost as a prayer and challenge for all of us, as we prepared to re-enter our lives,

“I want to become a spy like Joshua and Caleb. I have crossed the river and tangled with a few giants, and I want to go back and say to those who are hesitating, “Don’t be afraid to cross over. The Promise Land is worth possessing, and we are not alone.” I want to be a spy for Hope.”


Our vision for the Selah is to hold space for each person's unique creativity, sharpen our minds with meaningful conversation with one another, take care of our bodies through rest and exercise, and to feast together. But it doesn't end once the weekend is over. This is our hope: that an intentional pause can refocus, awaken, and propel us forward in our callings and creativity, not just for our personal fulfillment or benefit, but for the communities we go home to and share our lives with. Let's re-enter as spies of hope.


I'll close out with one of the best parts about The Selah--the food! For those who came (and for those who are curious and interested in joining us at a Selah in the future) Here are some of the recipes we used, or links to the bakeries, restaurants, and individuals who elevated our meals to feasts!



--------


Abby is an amazing chef who inspires me with her recipes, and she just graduated high school! This girl is going places in the food world. Check out her Instagram page (@abigailrice02) she makes and sells fresh pasta weekly.


I've made this pasta every week since the Selah. If you can, use fresh basil and raw pasta ( also, I love roasting mushrooms along with tomatoes and prosciutto) My kids go back for second helpings every time! https://www.halfbakedharvest.com/garlic-herb-roasted-cherry-tomato-carbonara-wcrispy-prosciutto-burrata/



We've made this soup every Selah thus far, and every time, we scrape the pot clean! https://damndelicious.net/2018/04/18/thai-red-curry-noodle-soup/



For the softest, chewiest cookies, Joannah Ganes' chocolate chip cookies are a must try. I made three dozen of them for the Selah and they were the perfect thing to enjoy in the evenings with a hot cup of tea. https://www.thekitchn.com/joanna-gaines-chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe-257520



JaxDog provided our cardamom cinnamon rolls. You can find out more about this lovely little café and bookstore at https://www.facebook.com/jaxdogcafe/ or email them directly at jaxdogcafe@gmail.com


The Gold Room https://goldroompizza.com/ catered our last dinner with seasonal pizza and salad. I'm still thinking about that winter squash pizza in my daydreams.


Part of our vision and hope for the Selah is also to spotlight local food artisans. We are already planning ways we can incorporate some of Idaho into the Spring Selah that will take place in Donnelly, ID in June!


Lou and I have some exiting announcements about our next retreat that we will share in the next few days. Come join us; we'll save you a seat.


For more information on our retreats, feel free to email us at creativeselahretreats@gmail.com



bottom of page